Hide >

Protecting you and your business since 1975.

Get to know.. Ian Pinchemain

Find out a little bit more about our Commercial Account Handler, Ian Pinchemain!

Ian.. how long you have been in the industry?

I’ve been in the industry for 14 years.

How long have you been with IFM?

13 years this October. Previously, I was employed by a small family run company in Guernsey and prior to this, I was a Car Salesman for 10 years.

If you weren’t in insurance what would you like to do?

Self-employed Gardener / Landscape Gardener.

Where you are from?

Guernsey, Channel Islands (not the one where Bergerac comes from).

Tell us about your typical weekend

I like to get an early start Saturday morning if there is anything that needs doing in the garden or any DIY to be done. I thoroughly enjoy demolishing any sturdy structures inside or outside the house, and building things such as sheds, walls, fencing, kitchen units etc so I am in my element with a hammer, saw, or screwdriver to hand. Saturday evening is usually spent at home in front of the TV with a glass or 2 of red wine. On Sunday during the Rugby League season, I’m off to watch the Sheffield Eagles every other weekend, so in the mornings, it’s either going shopping or back in the garden. If there is no Rugby, then it’s a day out with the family to York, Bakewell, Leeds etc.

What are your hobbies?

I enjoy watching Cricket, Formula 1 and Rugby. If the opportunity arises, I prefer to see them live. I also enjoy going to music concerts. Pre-lockdown, we went to the theatre and cinema quite regularly. I like seeing musicals, comedies, murder mysteries and the Pantomime at the Lyceum. I’m a big fan of James Bond, Marvel and Lord of the Rings so any films associated with these are a must see. I really enjoy DIY and will tackle most things so subsequently I have a shed full of tools, however, I’m not over keen on anything electrical that’s wired to the mains because getting electrocuted isn’t my idea of fun.

What’s your favourite holiday location?

Anywhere in Italy, preferably Venice or anywhere coastal

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Roast Chicken.

What’s your favourite ice cream flavour?


What type of music are you into?

I really love 80’s music, however, I’m also a fan of Iron Maiden, Def Leppard, and soundtrack from the movies.

What was the last TV show you binge-watched?

Inspector George Gently

What do you do on your commute to/from work?

Concentrate on the roads is the correct answer, but I always have the radio tuned into either Radio 2 or Radio 5.

What’s the phone app you use most?

I hate to admit it but it’s “Pokemon Go”, my daughters introduced me to the game and now we play it together on a daily basis.

What’s your favourite board game?

Scrabble, grate chance to expand your vocabulary and argue with the family over the origin of selected words.

Who is the most famous person you’ve ever met?

Oliver Reid, (he used to be a regular in the pub that I worked at in Guernsey), he was occasionally joined by Alex Higgins, so the alcohol flowed faster than you could serve it. On one occasion, I went on a pub crawl with the 2 of them, this wasn’t one of the best decisions I had ever made from what I can remember.

What’s the one thing that can instantly make your day better?

Waking up and realising it’s the weekend.

What would you change about yourself if you could?

My age, I’d love to be a teenager in the 80’s again.

What would be the first thing you’d do if you won the lottery?

Book the longest world cruise I could find for the whole family.

Tell us something that people might not know about you.

I really hate heights, I breakout in a cold sweat if I am more than 15 feet up a ladder!